C.U.M.A. welcomes the appointment by the Minister for Finance, Mr. Michael Noonan T.D., of the Credit Union Restructuring Board, ReBo.
A spokesperson for C.U.M.A. said: “The Credit Union movement continues to serve the people and communities of Ireland. The movement needs to be restructured so that it can continue to serve as a not for profit co-operative provider of financial services and so that it can expand into other areas to meet it’s members’ changing needs. The ReBo Board named by the Minister is a particularly strong blend of expertise and experience, designed to achieve the necessary restructuring required. C.U.M.A. wishes the ReBo Board well in it’s work and looks forward to co-operating with it.”

The ReBo Board will commence it’s work and have it’s first meeting on Friday, 28th September 2012.

The Board is made up of the following:-

  1. Bobby McVeigh, Chairman, former WOCCU President
  2. Brendan Burke, Accountant, former C.O.O. Rabo Ireland and Netherlands, and former C.O.O. Mediobanca UK
  3. Elaine Byrne, Deputy Registrar of Credit Unions
  4. Pat Fay, Director, ILCU, former Head of Monitoring
  5. Kevin Johnson, CEO, CUDA, former member of the Commission on Credit Unions
  6. Jimmy Johnstone, President, ILCU, former Treasurer and Vice President of ILCU
  7. Tom Kavanagh, Insolvency and Forensic Accountant Specialist
  8. Eoin McGettigan, Retail and Wholesale specialist and Chairman of Clearys
  9. Tim Molan, NEC, CUMA, Credit Union Manager, former member of the Commission on Credit Unions
  10. Stephen O’Donovan, Accountant, specialist in Corporate Finance and Restructuring, Credit Union Treasurer
  11. Joe O’Toole, former Senator, founder director INTO Credit Union, former member of the Commission on Credit Unions
  12. Kathleen Prendergast, Credit Union Director, member of Social Enterprise Task Force, ACCUP tutor
  13. Neil Ryan, Department of Finance, formerly Executive Director UBS Investment Bank and CEO Wells Fargo Bank Dublin